Winners of the 2013 RIBA Wren Insurance Association Scholarships announced

Five talented students of architecture are to receive £5,000 each and invaluable mentoring from some of the UK’s leading architectural practices.

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) and the architects’ professional indemnity insurance mutual The Wren Insurance Association Limited (the Wren) have announced the five winners of the inaugural RIBA Wren Insurance Association Scholarships.

The 2013 winners are:

  • Laura Cannon from the University of Dundee
  • Piotr Garstecki from the University of Westminster
  • Erl Johnston from Queen’s University Belfast
  • Megan Passey from Oxford Brookes University
  • James Pockson from the Royal College of Art

RIBA President Angela Brady said:

“Congratulations to the recipients of this year’s scholarships, I wish them the very best for their final year of the Part 2. These generous scholarships, made possible by The Wren Insurance Association, will provide these talented students with financial support at an important stage of their architectural education. I am also delighted that the Members of The Wren Insurance Association Limited are supporting the next generation of talented architects through mentoring.”

Richard Pullen, Chairman of Wren, said:

“I am delighted to announce that Laura Cannon, Piotr Garstecki, Erl Johnston, Megan Passey and James Pockson are the inaugural winners of the first five RIBA Wren Scholarships. Our insurance mutual, having enjoyed over 25 successful years, decided to mark its quarter century by making available a scholarship fund of £25,000 per year to Part 2 students at a time when the cost of qualification can be overwhelming. We are also offering the successful students the opportunity of being mentored by some of the UK’s leading architectural firms. The Wren Members, having helped each other over the last 25 years, feel it is appropriate to support and encourage the next generation of talented architects who have the potential to make a significant contribution to the field of architecture.”